Inhibitions – La Danse Macabre

 Of all my time in the current ocean that is the modern underground scene of black metal, I rarely come across any symphonic acts. I’m not sure if it’s the lack of bands performing the style or I’m simply going in the wrong direction, but I’ve always wanted to hear more. Luckily, I stumbled across the Greek act of Inhibitions whose take on the genre is reminiscent of old-school Dimmu Borgir but they still carve their own path without relying on a legend’s past work.

It’s very easy for any sort of symphonic band to lose themselves in the symphonies that they’re trying to boast as you can become so focused on them that you forget to integrate any quality black metal in the end. A trap that’s all too often, sadly, but Inhibitions shows with “La Danse Macabre” that they’re just too damned talented to fall slip up on such an act. Possibly the most entertaining black symphonic band that I’ve heard since Dimmu Borgir’s last record, Inhibitions shows with these ten tracks that not only do they know precisely how to appeal to the listener with their intricate craft of welding the occult and fanciful orchestrations together, but they know how to make it more intoxicating that a magnificent ale! From the tantalizing intro track that tells you all you need to know about what’s in store for “La Danse Macabre” to the incredibly tasty cover of Satyricon’s “K.I.N.G.”, Inhibitions knows how to satisfy the listening by providing plenty of what one could want from an album like this! “La Danse Macabre” boasts terrific musicianship from start to finish to really shows that even though these Greeks don’t have all that much material to call their own, what they do have is nothing to scoff at and this record is magnificent proof.

Like I said, symphonic black metal has always been a rarity for me in my time as a metal head, but it’s groups like Inhibitions that always keep me on the look out for more. “La Danse Macabre” is something that will always have me come crawling back, and I’d have no doubt if this group earns a cult following for their awesome taste and impeccable execution that will surely infect the masses!

LISTEN to “La Danse Macabre” on Bandcamp here.

LIKE Inhibitions on Facebook here.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.