Terravore – Spiral of Downfall

Just the other day was I presented with one of the most compelling works of when thrash and death metal converge that I’ve experienced in a long time, and I was damn sure that it was going to be another long time before I came across something that would not just catch my eye but deliver in every given form. The impact of Molten’s latest album hasn’t even left my psyche, and it’s in that stupor Terravore has come upon my radar and made for one hell of an offensive. Sure, though, it couldn’t be the case that I’ve had the wild luck of experiencing another great work of the style so soon, right? The universe loves proving me wrong in ways I can never expect, and it’s now in the form of Terravore’s new work that I find myself ecstatic to be proven wrong.

Right away, Terravore makes it clear that they are adamant to deliver a performance of real thrash metal that heralds the golden days of the style without outright copying them to fall in the trap of becoming stale and boring that far too many of their contemporaries fall into. With a solid injection of death metal in the vocals, what we’re given is a dynamic and exceedingly aggressive blend that speaks to the very potential that death-thrash has when it is put in the hands of the capable. “Spiral of Downfall” is Terravore’s third record to date, and it’s beyond evident that they’re using the experience to their ultimate benefit. Not a single minute for the whole of these massive ten tracks able to be considered even close to missing their mark as Terravore shows a devastatingly display of understanding of their craft between the persistent aggression, reverence for the pillars of the genre, and the passion to bring it all forth in a compelling form that is simply nigh on intoxicating! “Spiral of Downfall” is a real showcase of the power with which Terravore wields with immense competency at every possible turn with each track having more than a few pieces of excellence to fawn over.

Voracious and no less than eviscerating in practically every aspect, this is a record that demands to be experienced by any who consider themselves a fan of what death-thrash is able to bring forward. So many have tried to bring real substance to the style over the years, yet pieces like “Spiral of Downfall” are truly few and far between. Now, if you’ll excuse me, I must immediately immerse myself in what Terravore has done before this magnificent beast of an album.

LISTEN to “Spiral of Downfall” on Bandcamp here.

LIKE Terravore on Facebook here.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.