Neraterræ / Chaigidel – Lamaštu

While there was a time where the world of ambient called my name, I have to admit that it has been some time since I’ve laid down in those dark mists for no reason other than there really hasn’t been anything to call me back into its halls. Perhaps I had my fill and didn’t want to return until I had a hunger for it yet again, but that doesn’t change the fact that the desire to investigate more has been rising within me. With the release of Dødsferd’s recent bout into the world of ambiance, I found myself ready to return for whatever may come my way, and like a call from beyond the wall of time, Neraterræ has returned to me with another intriguing performance, but not alone.

The ancient myths and the tales that surround them are always fantastic material for those in the world of ambient since both the themes and the style itself lend towards the mind’s eye more than what many other genres may offer since one truly has to become lost in the work in order to visualize all that there is in any given work of ambient. Neraterræ is no stranger to doing just that with its work having become only more exquisite as the years have gone on, but it is here with its pairing with Chaigidel that “Lamaštu” has taken the form of something that’s fittingly interesting. Named after the ancient Mesopotamian menace of a goddess, the daughter of the sky god and lover of Pazuzu is done nothing but immense justice in these eight haunting tracks. Neither act overshadows the other as they work together in impressive harmony to deliver a visage of times thousands of years passed with naught but the song of windswept sand to carry on their legacy. Neraterræ’s impeccable sense of ambient lays the foundation that plants us firmly in those ancient days when the very air had a tinge of mysticism to it with the stone walls and dunes coming to life under the command of Neraterræ while it is Chaigidel that thrusts life into the very gods as they truly come alive as the name works in tandem with its partner here to deliver an overall performance that is captivating in its visages that encapsulate much of what many tend to regard Mesopotamian culture as whilst never once failing to add particular flavors of magic, darkness, and terror into the mix for maximum effect.

Separate, I’ve no doubt that both of these names would have no problems bringing these themes to life on their own, but it is together that both Neraterræ and Chaigidel make “Lamaštu” quite the sublime excursion back in time. This is just the entrance back into the world of ambient that I’ve been needing, and I couldn’t have asked for a more fascinating duo to have made my re-entry nothing that is to be skipped for any fan of dark ambient.

LISTEN to “Lamaštu” on Bandcamp here.

LIKE Neraterræ on Facebook here.

LIKE Chaigidel on Facebook here.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.