Lüüp – Canticles of the Holy Scythe

  Variety truly is the spice of life. As someone who is constantly going out of my way to hear all sorts of new music, sometimes I need a break from all the chaos. Sometimes I need to find something far away from metal and rock to refresh my brain, much like how a cook will make a steak different ways so he never grows tired of the same flavor. This time I’ve decided to go into a realm I’ve never gone out of my way to hear: chamber music. The orchestral style has never appealed to me, but the mystery of Lüüp has opened my eyes to something truly grand.

The whole idea of chamber music is the type of thing that I’ve always felt never really had a place outside movie soundtracks, but like most things with music I’ve been proven wrong in spectacular fashion. After a six-year period since their last effort, the British group of Lüüp has returned with a vengeance that truly creeps upon you and snatches you in the night when you least expect it. The 35-minute climatic effort of “Canticles of the Holy Scythe” is a very intimate one as these six tracks are constantly shifting from one scenery to the next seamlessly and with utmost mastery, as we’re given very engaging pieces that I feel confident calling a real true for both veterans and newcomers to chamber music overall. Lüüp makes this album flow smoother than water as they truly understand how to execute the sound they want with seemingly little effort, and the ultimate result is a sound that cuts right to the very bone and brings you along this ride that is as entertaining as it is unique. And should you be wanting another reason to check out the spectacle that is “Canticles of the Holy Scythe” then maybe the guest appearances of Sakis Tolis (Rotting Christ vocalist) and Bjørn “Aldrahn” Dencker (Urarv) who lend their terrific voices to this wonder will be enough to draw you into this experience that’s no less than cinematic.

Never before did I think I could sit here and sing praises to you about chamber music. It just never seemed like the type of thing that could entrance me such as this, yet the prestigious label of I, Voidhanger Records has yet to disappoint me and Lüüp is as far from disappointing as you can get. “Canticles of the Holy Scythe” is a true modern wonder that transports you back centuries to where this music is much more commonplace, and Lüüp pulls it off with such ease and mastery that it feels unnatural at times yet always immensely satisfying.

“Canticles of the Holy Scythe” releases on December 8th via I, Voidhanger Records!

LIKE Lüüp on Facebook here.

Leave a Reply

