Arcadea – s/t

 We all as music lovers have the immense desire to hear new things. Be it a new album from a band that doesn’t change their formula at all to the new kids on the block trying to simply be different, there’s a general desire to hear the next innovation. The members of Mastodon in recent years are a prime example of what one person at a time can do with artistic imagery. Creating all sorts of different metal groups, one Mastodon member has now created a synth-based project that’s other-worldly yet captivating at the same time.

As one who doesn’t really like electronic based music, I try to expand my borders every now and then. I feel that’s essential for anyone who even casually examines music to pass the time, and besides, it’s been quite a while since I’ve heard a synth record, and upon hearing that Arcadea is yet another group with a member of Mastodon in it, I had my interest peaked because I wanted to see what would happen. As it turns out, Arcadea’s self-titled debut is the sort of piece that’s the very opposite of stagnant and has just enough elements of metal to it that I can call it part of the genre, and it’s a very satisfying sensation to experience the whole of this eleven-track experience. This entire album creates an extremely surreal and space-like experience that synth can easily do, but there’s some form of expertise and delicate care the seeps through every track that Arcadea crafts from supernovas with utmost ease. That allows for this group to form something that is both hypnotic, organic in every way, and simply engaging all the way to the very end.

Like I said, I’ve never been very big to electronic pieces, but this was a very pleasant surprise that I can easily see myself returning to for a heavy dose of psychedelia. A trio such as Arcadea may not be a rare sight nowadays (or maybe it is, I’ve no fucking clue), but that doesn’t take away from the sheer gravity that is this debut. Tasteful and engaging all the way to the fading buzz, this project is something that I wasn’t expecting to enjoy as much as I did and it’s the sort of thing that I can easily see gaining traction to form a very devout fan base. I’d be more than keen to hear a follow-up as well; I think that’d be interesting.

“Arcadea” releases on June 16th via Relapse Records!

PRE-ORDER “Arcadea” via iTunes here.

LISTEN to 3 tracks from “Arcadea” on Bandcamp here.

LIKE Arcadea on Facebook here.

Leave a Reply

