Trial – Motherless

 With hearing a new album every day from a wide variety of bands with extremely different styles, you’re always moving forward it feels like. Each band seems to be trying to be progressive, so I decided today to not move forward and actually just stay put. I wanted something that wasn’t trying to be fancy but instead of something that was content with its current form. That desire led me to Trial who has taken heavy metal to brilliant heights, even on a relatively small scale.

Now, what I said in that paragraph may have been phrased weirdly. I wanted something that took the band’s style, heavy metal in today’s case, and didn’t really try to do anything special to set the band, Trial being the other part of today’s case, apart. However, minor experimentation is always welcome, and that’s what we get here with Trial’s upcoming record. “Motherless” is the utmost epitome of a modern heavy metal record. Not only does Trial damn near perfectly embody the style to their utmost advantage where we get vocals as smooth as ice, rhythmic guitars that don’t quick, an extremely tasteful bass, and a set of drums that’s simply immaculate. Yet, Trial doesn’t mind to shake things up a bit by slowing down the pace, introduce an acoustic guitar, or extend the length of their songs. That allows “Motherless” to really breathe, flex its muscles, and enable Trial to really show a side of themselves that I’m sure they’ve only shown glimpses of, and I can guarantee that if you hear this spectacular album that you’d be taken on a heavy metal experience that we sadly haven’t gotten much of in recent years. That alone makes this piece all the more savory, and something that I can easily see myself coming back to time and again. Not many records of this kind nowadays do that for me, but “Motherless” proves with its first track effortlessly that it isn’t like many other records of its kind in the best ways possible.

I’ve always tried my best to keep my eyes and ears peeled for anything noteworthy, but as I’m only one person with a life (go figure, I’ve one of those, too) I know that a lot of stuff I’m never going to hear. Lots of potentially awesome stuff, but I refused to let “Motherless” be something that passes by me because I’ve always heard good things about this band but never felt compelled to investigate. Now, I see the error of my ways. Trial has truly impressed with “Motherless”, and I’ve nothing but confidence when I say that should you want something very interesting from the world of straight heavy metal then this is what you’re going to want to hear. No question.

“Motherless” releases on April 7th via Metal Blade Records!

PRE-ORDER “Motherless” via iTunes here.

LISTEN to 2 advanced tracks from “Motherless” on Bandcamp here.

LIKE Trial on Facebook here.

Leave a Reply

