Henry Kane – Den Förstörda Människans Rike

14012712_10153903381988233_802661499_o Personally, I’ve never been really into the world of grind or crust metal as they just always seem to be . . . too extreme for my liking. Don’t get me wrong, I like extreme, but how much is too much for one person? I’ve found a little bit of comfort in Cattle Decapitation, but I’ve always wanted to go further in but haven’t been able to find a good band to ease me into it. As luck would have it, Henry Kane might just exactly be what I need.

Despite what one might think, Henry Kane is not the name of the man who is behind this grind project. And yes, there’s only one man to this group and his name would happen to be Jonny Pettersson of Wombbath, and if you don’t know who that is then you have research to do and I’m too lazy to tell you, but I digress with all this banter. I went into Henry Kane’s debut work of “Den Förstörda Människans Rike” expecting to hear grind and would finish it either liking it or not, and oddly enough by the end of the album I actually enjoyed what I heard quite a bit. This 15-track beast is the musical formation of what happens when lava meets blood – a real post-apocalyptic sound that is about as chaotic as it is relentless. Every single song that “Den Förstörda Människans Rike” throws at us is a real rewarding grind experience that’s coated very nicely in a dense blanket of death metal that really tops everything off. Henry Kane really manages to achieve so much of what I’ve heard good about this style – fiery rage, quicker than the deadliest lightning bolt, and heavier than the center of the sun, and “Den Förstörda Människans Rike” makes it a really nice package in every sense.

As I said, grind has never really been more forte, but I’ve always kept an open mind about it because who knows when that right band is going to hit my ears? Well, maybe it’s Henry Kane that I needed because goddamn this record did not disappoint even for someone who’s always been on the fence about the style. “Den Förstörda Människans Rike” is a real uncompromising, brutal, and bloody as fuck record that doesn’t let up for nothing, and fuck me sideways if this isn’t the essential album to have in this new year as a grind head.

“Den Förstörda Människans Rike” releases on February 20th!

LISTEN to the track “Skuld och begär” on Bandcamp here, and another via YouTube below.

LIKE Henry Kane on Facebook here.

Leave a Reply

