Burn the Chapel – Doomsayer

a3018660498_10 Personally, I’m always on the search for some tasty, tasty doom metal, but I’m a man of many tastes if I do say so myself. I can get into some real heavy shit, while also having a massive appreciation for the psychedelic side of the genre. Today, however, I just wanted something nasty and heavy as fuck at the same time. Fortunately, I didn’t have to look hard as I quickly came across Burn the Chapel’s latest piece, and it’s precisely what I wanted.

Sadly, we live in a world where too many people find that with their metal they need to go bigger and bolder if they’re to achieve any sort of success in the end. Not many bands who stick to the basics anymore, but Burn the Chapel is clearly one of them, and “Doomsayer” is a prime example of that. There are but two tracks to go along with this EP and both don’t even stretch over five minutes long, but goddamn do they pack one fucking hell of a punch! The just over ten-minute experience that “Doomsayer” puts on consists of straight up disgustingly awesome displayed of doom that truly gets in touch with the dark side both in terms of theme and overall sound. It creates this ever-present intimidating air about the music that never once desists, and that really adds an extra layer into the mix as if Burn the Chapel wasn’t already doing a bang up job with their doom. And even though this is light years away from being anything I’d call magnificently fantastic or any shit like that, there’s no denying the awesomeness that’s brought to the table with “Doomsayer”, and I feel many of us will happily bathe in the darkness regardless. I know I am.

It truly is the simpler things in life that have the most value every now and then, and the most recent instance of that coming to a glorious fruition is, of course, Burn the Chapel. There’s no other way for me to say it as I’ve already said it multiple fucking times but I’ll keep on saying it: “Doomsayer” is a monstrous fucking piece that deserves to be heard by anyone who likes their doom dark, crunchy, and oh so vile.

LISTEN to “Doomsayer” on Bandcamp here.

LIKE Burn the Chapel on Facebook here.

Leave a Reply

