Candiria – While They Were Sleeping

candiria_-_while_they_were_sleeping I want you to imagine a band that is the reason the term “genre-bending” is a thing. I’m sure we’ve all got at least one we can think of. Got it? Magnificent. Now, I want to you get ready to add another band to that list. The band in question is New York’s Candiria whose upcoming album can only be considered to be incredibly innovative.

When I brought up “genre-bending” I didn’t fucking mean mixing together two different styles of metal to make whatever combination we’ve all most likely heard before. And no, I don’t mean something as exhausted as symphonic metal. Candiria has created something that they’ve apparently been doing for years, but I’ve only just now heard it in its pretty intelligent glory. What these New Yorkers have done is smashed together both metalcore and something akin to jazz to create something astounding. “While They Were Sleeping” is an album that I, admittedly, didn’t like at first namely because I thought it was clunky and just didn’t flow as well as it could. But luckily my doubts were almost immediately dashed by the start of the second track out of the twelve I was presented with. The whole of “While They Were Sleeping” gives us a truly unique presence that I feel like could’ve only come out of the bustling restlessness of Brooklyn, and such a presence is nothing short of very delicious for anyone willing to sit through these thirteen mind-bending treats. In the end, there’s no denying how much of an interesting act Candiria have put on for not just their fans, but music lovers in general since they present something we don’t see very often if ever, and in a very enjoyable form, no less.

If you are going to want to mark down albums at the end of the year that definitely stand out from the crowd based on creativity and excellence of the final product, I want you to be damn sure Candiria is going to be on that list. “While They Were Sleeping” is not an album that you were going to sleep on, for sure. Get it? Sleep on? It’s a pun. I’m disgusting, I know.

“While They Were Sleeping” releases on October 7th!

PRE-ORDER “While They Were Sleeping” via iTunes here.

LISTEN to the first 2 tracks off “While They Were Sleeping” on Bandcamp here.

LIKE Candiria on Facebook here.

One thought on “Candiria – While They Were Sleeping

Leave a Reply

