Ulcerate – Abrogation (single)

GD30OB2-N.cdr Sometimes you just gotta go back to the basics. It’s amongst the more simple things that can provide the most entertainment, and more often than not I find myself in such a situation with death metal. Most recently, it’s Ulcerate who reinforce that belief for me, and with a powerful reason, that happens to be just under six minutes long.

Very few bands out there manage to constantly and consistently improve upon their previous works with each new one, so whenever we come into the presence of one such phenomenon we tend to lose our minds over it, at least those of us who are lucky enough to bear witness to it will. And recently, I was lucky enough to stumble back upon Ulcerate with their latest single “Abrogation” and holy shit! This one track alone tops everything that Ulcerate have done before. In the few minutes of “Abrogation”, we are treated to nothing short of excellent death metal, but in such a way that even a casual fan of the genre can’t help but say that they want more. Yet we must wait, for the album is not out yet. But I, for one, could not stop replaying the song over and over again, which is always a good thing to see from any band of any kind from anywhere. I’d be fucking lying to you if I said I wasn’t looking forward to the full album.

I’ve my fair doubts that “Shrines of Paralysis” will be one of my favorite records of the year, but I’ve no question about the fact that the album will be the fucking shit nonetheless. Just seeing the name of Ulcerate plastered on the record, it’d be hard for this record to not spread like wildfire in the best way possible.

“Shrines of Paralysis” releases on October 28th!

PRE-ORDER “Shrines of Paralysis” via iTunes here.

LISTEN to “Abrogation” via Clrvynt here.

LIKE Ulcerate on Facebook here.

Leave a Reply

