The Agonist – Five

683_the_agonist There are a few bands out there that I just keep trying to get into no matter what experience I’ve had with the band before. With The Agonist, I’ve never had a bad time I can honestly say, but I’ve never had a great one. Each new album they put out I find myself crawling back to see if things could change. This time around was by far the most enjoyable for me, I’m happy to say.

If you haven’t already guessed by this point, “Five” is the fifth studio album that The Agonist have managed to bust out, and it’s easily their most ambitious and intriguing in my eyes. The Canadian group manage to stay true to their roots with “Five” as the 14-track beast is naught but a smashing blast of woman led melodic death metal mixed with some core elements for that bit of variety, and it does nothing but justice for the entirety of the album. But it’s in the track “The Raven Eyes” where things take an absolutely drastic turn where The Agonist show a side to them that we rarely get to see, if at all, and I won’t say much because it’s simply something you need to experience yourself first hand. And while “Five” has an absolute plethora of material to be found within and has something for just about everyone who listens to it, I just still wasn’t able to click with the record. Maybe I’m just overthinking it, but I can’t tell you with a straight look on my face that I didn’t enjoy “Five” in the end. It’s just something about it that prevents me from saying anything bad about it even though I know it’s not for me, but I can’t tell what it is.

Either way, The Agonist has made what I can easily call their most engaging album to date, and I’ve no doubt the hardcore fans of these Canadians will agree upon the release of the record. “Five” promises nothing  but even more improvement with further releases, and you can be damn sure I’ll be there for all of them.

“Five” releases on September 30th!

PRE-ORDER “Five” via iTunes here.

LIKE The Agonist on Facebook here.

FOLLOW The Agonist on Twitter : @theagonist

Leave a Reply

