Minenwerfer / 1914 – Ich hatt einen Kameraden

a1516572639_10 Splits are really my lazy way of finding bands that are like those that I already like. For example: last split I reviewed featured Ende and Sorcier des Glaces, and I’d never heard of SDG beforehand but once I saw they were doing a split I investigated damn near immediately. I like 1914 a good deal, and seeing them do a split made me wonder what they had going on with another group, and it’s not short of outstanding.

I want you to picture war transformed into a metal album. Now, I don’t mean the glorified version that Sabaton pumps out in their recent works, albeit very good in my eyes. I’m talking about as raw as it gets, holding nothing back for a single second, and capturing all there is to encapsulate about war musically while remaining 100% truthful. “Ich hatt einen Kameraden” is a perfect contrast and pairing with Minenwerfer and 1914 to top it all off, as well. Minenwerfer gathered all the intensity of gunfire and trench warfare and split second actions in their blistering speed and unrelenting power. Then comes in 1914 who takes a bit of a stylistic turn from their debut album that was much what Minenwerfer did here with “Ich hatt einen Kameraden”, but this time 1914 took more a doomy approach and slow things down to emphasize all the crushing brutality that you find in war that is always constantly weighing your being down, and then they pull off the occasional speed boost that show they’re still very worthy of their degree in Fast n Loud. It’s no question to say that “Ich hatt einen Kameraden” is a real choice cut between two black metal bands and apart from being a hell of a trip through what these two groups do great, the split is a gory tale of the Great War that will without doubt leave a mark on your psyche in quite a few ways.

“I had a comrade” . . . powerful words to say in the least when you imagine them in a certain way. However you image them being said is up to you, but upon listening to this excellent split there’s no other way to regard this 8-track wonder as no less than marvelous. 1914 have shown true growth and maturity as a band themselves, and I’m lucky enough to have been introduced to Minenwerfer who will forever now be on my black metal radar. Now, if you’ll excuse me, I’m going to throw money at the screen to purchase this excellence.

LISTEN to “Ich hatt einen Kameraden” on Bandcamp here or below.

LIKE 1914 on Facebook here.

LIKE Minenwerfer on Facebook here.

Leave a Reply

