DevilDriver – Trust No One

652_Devildriver_CMYK DevilDriver for me has always been one of those bands that sound like many others (or others sound like them, whatever) and they have appealed to me with their feel and overall sound, but I’ve never been able to get into them despite how much I respect them and their success. I felt as though their upcoming record, “Trust No One”, would be a good place to start and this ten track album (excluding bonus tracks) held a few surprises.

Normally, this is where I tell you how much better I thought this album was compared to their previous efforts if my reviews are to follow any sort of pattern. Well I’ve got good news and bad news. Bad news is that I’m not a huge fan of this record for a reason, but the good news is that I did enjoy this record with reason. I didn’t really like “Trust No One” all that much because it feels like I’ve heard this formula before. Whether it be from DevilDriver or another band that I’ve heard it before I don’t know, but it just sounds so . . . recycled. The vocals had a good feel to them, yes, but they were just so monotone throughout the album as everything is level and never really goes anywhere else in each track, and the same goes for the rest of the band. On the other hand, the quality of everything within “Trust No One” is high enough to where I will happily sit through and listen to it casually. It’s got plenty of replay-ability (that’s a word now) with plenty of riffs, hooks, and intricacies that I’m sure will fulfill the needs of many a melodic death fan out there. Mixing all those factors together makes “Trust No One” (in my eyes) an album that isn’t super fantastic but nowhere near dreadfully awful. It’s a very bittersweet record for me because I enjoy the sound, but I’ve just heard it so much that it’s lot a lot of its original luster for me. But I’ve no doubt that this is nowhere near DevilDriver’s lowest point in their career and I’ve plenty of confidence that hordes of people will enjoy this record immensely, and when you listen to “Trust No One” from all angles you can absolutely see why such people would love this record.

A piece to be respected, there’s no doubt there for me. The album just feels recycled in such a way that I cannot find a whole lot of enjoyment out of its sound anymore, maybe I have to listen to it a few times to really find something I enjoy out of it, I don’t know. Either way, I do honestly recommend this record because it has got plenty of interesting elements that could catch your fancy, maybe not, but what’s the fun in knowing for sure whether or not you’ll enjoy a record you’ve never heard before?

“Trust No One” releases on May 13th!

PRE-ORDER “Trust No One” via iTunes here.

LISTEN to the single “Daybreak” via YouTube here or below.

LIKE DevilDriver on Facebook here.

FOLLOW DevilDriver on Twitter : @devildriver

Leave a Reply

