A Thousand Sufferings – Burden

a2913793598_10 What’s something that’s familiar to me? Black metal. Love it, know it, and listen to it all the time. Another thing? Doom metal. Crushing, slow, and awesome. I’ve immersed myself in those two styles of metal, but I’ve honestly never seen a band try to mold the two together to great something really different. A Thousand Sufferings has done just that with their debut album “Burden”. Truly a different style, these guys may just be the start of a wave of metal that if it’s started already then I will fully support it because this is the absolute shit!

I’m a firm believer of “less is more” and “Burden” only makes me believe in that even more. There are only four tracks off of this debut, but with doom metal being what it is the album clocks over 30 minutes with three of the four tracks reaching well over nine minutes all three times. The only thing I don’t like about “Burden” is that the first track seems like it’s merely set up for the rest of the record, and to me that’s just a three minute period of nothing important, but other than that I can honestly say that nothing else was wrong with “Burden” thankfully. The vocals were where the black metal really came in as they were very harsh and somehow fit amazingly well with the grinding guitars and the pounding bass that both had an excellent sense of timing when it came to sounding the sound of pure heaviness, or even to give you a more ethereal feel to the music with a more atmospheric. And don’t think the drums are lacking in any way because they are as awesome as they could be with each beat bringing a new pulse of heaviness that I personally cannot help but give a thumb up in approval. And by the end of the experience, I can only say that the one thing I thought was “more”. I cannot begin to think of what an album would say when they pull off everything perfectly, because even this record is something that you’re going to have to sit down for since it packs one hell of a punch. It is the perfect mix of black and doom metal by combining a raw nature and a crushing presence with a slower tempo; the best of both worlds.

As I said, “Burden” is just a magnificent debut. It is a wonderful combination of black and doom metal the likes of which I’ve never thought to imagine and I’m sure that’s the same for many other fans of those two. If you like those two I can’t recommend this enough, and if you don’t then I still implore you to check out “Burden”. As my grandmother always said, “it’ll knock you’re fucking socks off”.

LISTEN to “Burden” on Bandcamp here.

LIKE A Thousand Sufferings on Facebook here.

Leave a Reply

