Megadeth – Dystopia

megadethdystopiacd Megadeth has never really been my preferred thrash band, if I’m going to be completely honest with you. I’ve heard them before multiple times and have respected them for many years, but they’ve never really stuck with me. They’ve never had a lasting impression that made me want to listen to this band over and over again. I was excited for “Dystopia” simply because I wanted to know what it was going to be like so I intentionally didn’t listen to any single until release day, and let me tell you that it as a whole does not disappoint.

If you have heard the singles and thought, “that’s pretty good”, then I personally can say that they are but the tip of the iceberg as “Dystopia” just about transcends all other albums that Megadeth has managed to garner over the decades, some good and some not so much. This record has all the works that every good thrash metal album needs: fast everything, head-bangin’ choruses, and an intense feel to it that only makes you want to keep listening and hear more delicious thrash. A new thing that I’ve found from “Dystopia” that I thoroughly enjoyed was how throughout the album at very specific points there were subtle changes or shifts in the overall tone of the metal, either a change in guitar sound or a new beat, would have a haunting feel to it that really dug down deep if you were truly listening to the music, and it gave a real spine chill. And no matter how small that chill is, it’s always awesome to see that a band could pull that off and it’s even better to know that after decades Megadeth can pull off  something new for them like that. It adds a fresh atmosphere to “Dystopia” and truly pulls you out of the hellish world that it has already thrown you into for a darker, more bleak world that only lasts for a few moments but stays with you for the rest of the track.

I could go on and list many more things about “Dystopia” because I did enjoy it, maybe even more than any other Megadeth album I’ve heard! But I can’t say that I love this record simply because I just don’t click with the overall style of Megadeth no matter how good or polished it is. This is definitely a great album to be added to a great band’s already legendary collection, and I firmly believe that this is proof that this entity that is represented by Mr. Rattlehead is not about to come to an end any time soon.

BUY “Dystopia” via iTunes here.

LISTEN to “Dystopia” on Spotify here.

LIKE Megadeth on Facebook here.

FOLLOW Megadeth on Twitter : @Megadeth

Leave a Reply

