Riverside – Love, Fear and the Time Machine

11923256_1073211236024127_4910200408271547025_n I’ve never been big into progressive rock as it’s always felt bland and unoriginal in a lot of cases, but Riverside have broken that streak for me with their brand new album “Love, Fear and the Time Machine”. This is an hour long album with only ten tracks on it so if you like long songs then you’re sure to get your fill with this piece. Each track has a very nice flow to it that was only amplified by how fluid that vocals were alongside the guitars that were very atmospheric in some areas. That’s always a plus for me as if it’s done right, you can never go wrong with a little atmospheric elements busting into the mix, and Riverside pulled it off excellently. The drums have a nice, steady beat through each track while also having a tempo that made me tap my foot subconsciously. I also have to say that I’m a big fan of the cover art as it really does help translate the entirety of “Love, Fear and the Time Machine” into one single illustration. All in all, Riverside have made a very nice progressive rock album that I can’t say I’m enthralled with, but I really like the album’s feel, sound, flow, and all that other sort of shit that you’ve heard before. “Love, Fear and the Time Machine” is easily one of the best albums of its genre this year for me, and I’m confident that other people will feel the same if they don’t already.

 

LISTEN to “Love, Fear and the Time Machine” on Spotify here.

LIKE Riverside on Facebook here.

FOLLOW Riverside on Twitter : @riversidepl

Leave a Reply

