Furor Gallico – Songs From the Earth

10887496_814656338569816_5376821376353989_o This title to me literally screamed “folk metal” when I first saw it. I hadn’t read anything about Furor Gallico and only read the album title, “Songs From the Earth”, and saw the cover art and could tell already what I was getting myself into. I thought that I was going to hear some pretty damn good folk metal, and I was right. Even though I’m not in love with this album I do think that it’s very good for what it is and is a very high quality folk metal album to say in the least. There was an absolute plethora of awesome rhythmic chants that were only made better with the guitars, drums, and added instruments to the mix like a flute, for instance. I wasn’t too keen on the vocals at first, but by the third track I got used to them and thought that they suited “Songs From the Earth” very well because of how much they varied from a slow chant to a more intense scream. This was an overall good album that I feel like a good amount of folk metal fans can get into even though this is sung in a language that is definitely not English, but that doesn’t affect my opinion even though it does for others. “Songs From the Earth” is definitely an album to check out even though to me there’s just something about it that didn’t make me fall in love with it, but I’m sure that there’s more than plenty of people out there who will absolutely adore what Furor Gallico has made.

 

LISTEN to “Songs From the Earth” on Spotify here.

LIKE Furor Gallico on Facebook here.

FOLLOW Furor Gallico on Twitter : @FurorGallico

Leave a Reply

